google maps

For the last week I have been thinking of nothing but going to Europe. In this time I have started looking at some of the places I will go on Google Maps. The ridiculous resolution of reality is impeccable.

Go there and instead of putting in the address of the Halloween party you are going to put in the name of some distant and strange city you have always dreamed of exploring. You can see houses, cars, people. You can see where streams bend into woods and children build forts out of day dreams and summer haze. You can be anywhere on earth now just by wishing its name into google.

I want to build installations that do this from a first person (as opposed to birds eye) perspective. I want to allow everyone the ability to go anywhere instantly and without cost. To visit the day dreams of our youth in order to more fully explore the world in which we live.

Comments are closed.