alone

Sometimes I feel alone, even when (almost especially when) I am in a crowded room. As if I have nothing in common with the bodies that flow around me in my daily life. I feel detached, and in that detachment I find a cold comfort.

Why are there so many people in the world? What manifestation has life taken that the mindless numbers continue to grow unchecked by even death? Disease, famine, as all of these things are conquered by the will of mankind and we spill out into space; a virus on the doorstep of eternity, who are we?

What have we become, and what still are we becoming? We know not ourselves yet we seek to impose ourselves on all of time. A vanity of disgrace like a god from ancient Greece. We have our way with the world and there is nothing but time on our side.

I am glad I will be dead before then.

Comments are closed.