nuclear winter

For years I have threatened to move from Chicago because of the cold harsh winters. I grew up in the snow and I still can not stand the cold. As I get older this gets worse every year. To me the perfect place is somewhere around Lisbon, Portugal or Seville, Spain. Just north of Africa, but with mild summers due to the Gulf stream. (not to mention better health care, cheaper cost of living, etc)

But as I walk around today in the middle of January, I find it strange that it is mild out. As much as I don’t like the cold I find myself concerned that the cold isn’t here. They say it will be in a week, but shouldn’t we already have been bitten by the wet and the cold of the winter?

It is not so much that I want the cold to come (far from it) but if Chicago stops having a winter, what is happening in the rest of the world?

Comments are closed.