Malachi

Today I found out about the suicide of someone I have know and respected for years for his commitment to the Chicago music scene. His death is something that has shaken me considerably.

Malachi Ritscher was an important part of the Chicago music community and he will be greatly missed.

What now lingers on my mind are those other individuals I know who manifest the same dry, witty sarcasm about the state of the world in which we live. How many others are there who need our support in ways we may not be aware of?

Malachi did not have many close friends and though he was often out in public I would see him standing alone, considering the music and the people around him as if an alien visitor here only to document and observe this world.

When you see someone so often and yet know so little about them you should take the time to find out who they are and what they believe. Buy them a drink and let them pour themselves out and if they are reluctant (as so many urban hermits are) to divulge themselves then gently pry them open and discover what lies inside of them.

Comments are closed.